Recent reads

21 03 2009

Loyal readers, I apologize for the blogging hiatus.  During that time I read a few books listed in 1001 Books You Should Read Before You Die.  None of them were life-changing, so I will give a brief account. 

Blonde by Joyce Carol Oates is a fictionalized account of Marilyn Monroe’s life.  Mildly enjoyable, I was surprised that this book made the list over some of Oates other books. 

Main Street by Sinclair Lewis took me several weeks to get through.  The book is about Carol Kennicot, a doctor’s wife in small town America.  Set in the 1910’s, Carol is a feminist who is not satisfied with her life, her husband or her town.

 Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton is a slim volume.  I finished it is less than a day.  I wasn’t able to identify with the plight of Ethan falling in love with his ill wife’s cousin who has come to assist her with the housework.  His was abominable, so one can understand why he would be wanting affection.  Certainly divorce was much less common in the early 1900’s, but I still find it extremely hard to sympathize with anyone considering infidelity.

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 03 2009
Marriage Confessions

I’ve been wondering about Blonde. Maybe I’ll try that next. I’m not a huge Oats fan, but I do love me some Marilyn Monroe…

25 03 2009
Jennifer

I’m craving a really good book. Any suggestions? Any utterly readable finds?

Leave a Reply

