#8 – Marya: A Life by Joyce Carol Oates

9 02 2009

I have long been a fan of Joyce Carol Oates and have read many of her works.  When reviewing Boxall’s suggestions of 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die I wasn’t surprised to see that four of Oates’ books made the list.  I was surprised that I have read none of the four.  When making a list of books to check out from the library, I was sure to add Oates’ works to the list.

Marya: A Life was available when I last visited the library.  Written in 1986, this is the tale of Marya Knauer’s life from early childhood to her mid-thirties.  It follows as she grows from an abandoned child to an accomplished adult. 

Although I enjoyed this book, it is not, in my opinion, one of Oates’ best works.  Certainly she has grown as a writer since 1986.  Marya: A Life holds a glimpse of the wonderful author Oates will evolve into.  It is worth reading, but if you haven’t read Oates before pick up We Were The Mulvaneys or The Falls instead.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 02 2009
Sarah

I love Oats and have read I think all of her books. I liked this one too, but you are right I think We Were the Mulvaneys was better by far.

9 02 2009
Rix

Ugh. This means I have to pick that book up again? I tried twice to get through the Mulvaneys and for some reason I just couldn’t. I like you both and trust your judgement so I guess I gotta give it one more try. I hated Middlesex the first two time I started but loved it the third, so I suppose…

Leave a Reply

