Years past…

19 01 2009

Recently on a Good Morning America episode, the anchors revealed what past year of their life had the most impact on them.  Hearing this got me thinking about events in my own past and what far reaching effects they have had on my current life.

The events that most changed my life happened over a period of two years.  In 2001, a friend asked me to go with her to Weight Watchers.  I was extremely overweight and was suffering from extremely low self esteem.  At that time and had never made any attempt to diet and didn’t know how to begin.  Weight Watchers literally changed my life.  By the end of 2001, I was a size 4.  My self esteem skyrocketed to the point of megalomania. 

In 2002, I had a raucous time, making up for many years of a life as a obese self-deprecating anti-fatite.  I had previously believed that others based my worth as a human being on my weight.  I also based my own self worth on my weight, though I have always been glad to befriend anyone who stimulated my mind regardless of his/her weight. 

In 2003, I learned to desire things that I could not get with my looks.   I calmed down and set my sights on the future.  In 2003, at the age of 25, I became an adult. 

In 2003, I met my future husband.  In 2004, we moved in together and adopted some pets.  In 2005, we got engaged.  In 2006, we got married.  In 2009, we are very happy. 

I still believe that I can do anything that I want to do.  Keep in mind that I have accepted that with my extreme lack of coordination and short stature, I will not be a ballerina.  Honestly, I believe that anyone can do anything they put their mind to.  Most of the time, its not based on looks.  Certainly a sprinter needs a lean body and strong leg muscles; a surgeon needs a steady hand; a foot model should be free of corns and bunions.  But do you need to look a certain way to be a Postmaster, vending machine repairman or a stenographer?  Probably not.

Actions

Information

One response

19 01 2009
Sarah

That was a great post. We all need to believe we have intrinsic (spelling??) value.Value because we are alive not just because we are a certain size or profession. : )

Leave a Reply

