Challenge to Create Good Habits

11 01 2009

The USDA offers advice and tips to those trying to live a healthier lifestyle. 

I am going to use this information to attempt to create some new habits.  It wouldn’t be a good idea to attempt to change everything at once, so I will challenge myself to creating one good new habit each week.

For the next seven days I am going to focus on increasing my water intake.  I hate to admit this, but there are many days when I drink ONLY diet soda and no water.  My goal is to drink 4 (of the 16.9 ounce) bottles of water a day.  I will still drink soda; if I don’t get my daily caffeine fix nobody will want to be around me. 

If you would like to join me in this challenge, feel free to do so.  Check back next Sunday to learn about my progress and to see next week’s challenge.

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 01 2009
idonotknowme

Diet soda IS water. I have never agreed with the idea that drinking plain water is different from consuming water that is “in” something else. Sure, if the water is mixed with alcohol or salt, you are getting things in addition to water that you might not want, but the water in there is still water. With diet soda, there isn’t much of anything besides water. Diet soda is exactly water plus a few molecules of saccharin, aspartame, sucralose, neotame, and/or acesulfame potassium to sweeten it, plus a little caffeine. Adding those things does not reduce the number of, nor change the nature of, the H2O molecules in the water. It is still water.

11 01 2009
adventuresandmusings

IDKM, I agree wholeheartedly with your comment. There are many studies out there that say that all liquids should count as water, BUT I drink at least 12 cans of Diet Soda a day and no water. Water is free (if I refill the bottle over and over) and for some reason drinking so much diet soda makes me feel thirsty and hungry. Perhaps its the effect of one of those molecules you mention.

LR

11 01 2009
idonotknowme

The thirst could come from the sodium content of the diet sodas, but at 12 cans a day, I would be more concerned about the caffeine.

12 01 2009
Jennifer

Honestly, I drink little water, too, but I do drink large quantities of green tea. I drink 4-5 16 oz cups of green tea per day, plus 1-2 water bottles on days that I exercise.
And I agree with IDNKM, I’ve read that all liquids should count and the idea that the amount of caffeine in soda/coffee actually contributes to dehydration is a myth… the water content in those still count. But, if you are seeing negative consequences to your heavy soda consumption then I do think it’s good to cut back.

Leave a Reply

