Bailing on the Scale

6 01 2009

This morning I woke up when the alarm went off.  This is extremely unusual.  I am almost always up long before the shrill beeping starts.  I spent the better part of my morning planning my next sleep.  I fantasized about calling in sick to work, leaving work early, going to bed at 5:30 p.m. (the time I arrive home from work), taking a day off later in the week and spending the entire day sleeping.  You get the picture.

I require 8 hours of sleep.  The past two nights have clocked in around 7 hours. 

When I got out of bed, I stumbled into the bathroom ready to get on the scale.  Oh yeah, Craig hid it from me at my request. 

Not weighing myself has been a good thing.  The past four days are the first time in nine years that I have not weighed myself every day.  I have come to the realization that I shouldn’t base so much of my self worth on a number.  I am going to eat healthily and exercise several times a week and worry about how I feel.  Perhaps I will never again know how much I weigh.  That might not be a bad thing.

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 01 2009
Sarah

I agree…numbers can hold you back from reaching your goal! Just feel and be healthy is the key!!! Oh and I soo totally do that whole thing where I lay in bed and fantazie about going to sleep as soon as I can…lol

7 01 2009
Ani

Just wanted to pop by and say thank you for your words of encouragement on my blog – really means a lot 🙂

I reckon it’s a good thing to try and forget the numbers for a while, you’re so right they don’t represent your worth but so hard to believe sometimes. I’ve had my own hubby hide the scale before now and only when I was able to let go could I have it back. Good luck

7 01 2009
sissiesue

Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

This post about your scale really hit home for me. Like most women, I’ve got my own sordid relationship with The Scale. It had gotten pretty bad — to the point where after a good workout at the gym I’d weigh myself and then get depressed by the numbers. This numbers on the scale totally undid any positive state of mind I’d gotten myself into while working out. I finally got so fed up with this that I stopped weighing myself at the gym (it was surprisingly hard to stop doing it, though) and I got rid of my home scale.

I think this has been a good decision. In truth, I don’t need the scale to let me know “how I’m doing” in regards to health/weight/fitness. There are lots of other indicators to give me feedback. So now instead of getting down on myself for weighing “too much,” I get down on myself because I’m not exercising enough (which these days is true). This seems more positive to me because I should exercise more.

My only regret about getting rid of my home scale is that now I have no way to weigh my luggage before going on a trip. With the cost of luggage fees on airlines these days, an at-home scale could be viewed as a necessity 🙂 Your tactic of having the hubby hide it seems to be a nice compromise!

Leave a Reply

