Variety is the spice of life.

3 01 2009

On Thursday, Jennifer and I did Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred video.  I was able to finish it, though the butt-kicks and fake jump-roping left me a bit winded and due to my extreme lack of coordination, I can only do the bicycle crunch in extremely slow motion. 

Yesterday, I felt a few aches in leg muscles that I haven’t used in a long time, but I had no problems going about my day.  This morning was a different story – I woke up at the crack of dawn because my leg muscles were aching so much.  Going to the bathroom is a grand adventure.  I have to brace myself on the toilet seat as I slowly lower my butt, so public restrooms are out.  I also let out an involuntary grunt when sitting down or standing up.  Yet, Jennifer and I plan to do this video again tomorrow. 

Yesterday was a busy day, so I went for a short walk on my lunch break. 

Today, Jennifer and I went to a spinning class at Landmark, taking advantage of a coupon for 8 free classes that was recently in the Peoria Journal Star.  I really pushed myself in the class, now my legs are feeling like jelly. 

We made a stop at Borders and I picked up a new book on yoga.  A few years ago, I took yoga classes and really enjoyed them.  I got so flexible that I could do a backbend.  Nowadays, I have a hard time bending over to pick things up off of the floor, so I am looking forward to taking some yoga classes at the Franciscan Recreation Center with Jennifer and MarySue.  The book will be great reference material, as I’m sure I will end up getting a lot of special attention since I am so uncoordinated. 

I plan to try various exercise videos and classes as well as continuing to run and ride my bike.  Does anyone have any great exercise videos to suggest?  Keep in mind, that I am sorely lacking in coordination so any type of dancing is definitely out.

I’m off to soak my sore muscles in a hot bath and read the Jan/Feb 2009 issue of WeightWatchers Magazine.  I love a good weight loss story. 

P.S.  I am grateful for having such wonderful workout buddies who are willing to listen to me drone on and on and on about dieting and exercise.

P.P.S.  My husband did hide the scale.  It was a strange first few minutes of the day.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 01 2009
Sarah

I am a HUGE fan of Billy Blanks and his Tae Bo collection. About four years ago is when I really started to exercise and lost a ton of weight with his workouts! He has resistance bands you can use and the basic “boot cam video” is the best by far. I think you get aout 3 videos for $30. They have them at Target. I love him but in that he makes me cry with pain kinf od love : ) Good luck! I did aerobic kickboxing for about a year here in Peoria on Knoxville and LOVED it as well, just dont have the time anymore, but am looking into joinging a gym in the near future. : )

4 01 2009
Melissa

how is a scale-free life? im jealous. i can go a day or two and then back i am. if i’ve gone up an ounce, i am (ridiculously) miserable until the scales change. maintenance or loss means a great start to the day.

i’ll be interested to follow how it goes for you. i so hope that this can be your last “diet”. being so disordered, myself, it’s almost fascinating to watch a “normal” person losing weight. you seem very healthy in your ideas, and you’re going about it the healthy way — exercise and moderation.

i wish you well!!!!!

Leave a Reply

