Why 2009 will be the best year yet…

31 12 2008

Like most people, I make New Year’s resolutions.  Like most people, I have not been successful in sticking with my resolve in the past. 

I am determined that 2009 will be different. 

I have spent quite a bit of time planning this blog post and musing over how I will change my life for the better. 

This year it all comes down to fitness in various categories. 

♥ Achieving better physical fitness comes in at the top of my list every year.  Here is the simple formula that I will use.  I will embrace the age old concept of burning more calories than I consume.  The formula is simple, but the process is not easy for me.  The key is that this needs to occur the vast majority of the time. 

One thing I really want to do is get back into running.  I have dreams about running.  I miss the camaraderie of running with a group.  I miss the wonderful feeling I get when I push  myself to go just a little bit further. Every day I will run a little bit.  I will start off slow and add more distance when the time is right.  Participating in Building Steam is something that I have enjoyed in the past and I plan to enroll in the program again this year.

♥ My husband and I will work to achieve better financial fitness.  We will use the principles learned from Dave Ramsey’s The Total Money Makeover.  We will make a budget each month.  It was amazing to see where the money goes and what money was available when writing out January’s budget.  Our specific financial goal is to have the car paid off and to have a fully funded emergency fund by the end of 2009. 

♥ In order to improve my mental fitness, I will read more.  Specifically, I will try to read more non-fiction and classics.  My goal is to read one book a week for a total of 52 books in 2009, trying to read at least 13 non-fiction titles and 13 classic selections from the Modern Library’s list of 100 Best Novels.   I will watch less t.v. and spend less time surfing the Internet.  If I am not 100% certain of  a word’s meaning, I will look it up. 

♥ I will attempt to improve my emotional fitness by taking time to do something nice for myself every day.  I always wake up before my alarm goes off.  For a few minutes I lay in bed and think of what will happen in the day to come.  I will try to steal a few minutes of this precious time to plan  what I need to accomplish to be satisfied that day.  I will attempt to blog daily as an outlet to get things off of my chest. 

♥ It is extremely important to me to have fit relationships.  I will spend more quality time with my husband and work to make our relationship stronger.  Craig and I plan to spend time with our parents at least twice per month.  We will try to engage in activities with them that will allow us to see them as people and not just parental units.  We will try to spend more time visiting with Craig’s grandparents.  I will attempt to make amends with my Grandma Betty.  I will try to form a stronger bond with my brother, Brock.  We will visit Derek (Craig’s brother) and Rebecca (his wife, my sister-in-law) in Chicago.  I will try to be a better friend, answering emails and spending more time with my comrades.  I will be a better pet parent. 

Lofty goals?  Yes.  There is not enough time in this life.  It is all a balancing act.  I need to learn to manage my time more effectively so that I can achieve these goals.  Most of these things, I already do.  I just aspire to do them a little better in 2009.

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 12 2008
Sarah

I soo will try and do the building steam with you this year!! I mean I am just assuming that you will immediatly like me and want to really be my creepy stalker when we meet at book club : ) Last year I wanted to do the Building Steam but I had a class on Wed night. So hopefully I will be free this semester! : ) Happy New Year and your goals sound like good ones. I like the spending more time with the family especially I need to do that more too. : )

31 12 2008
Jennifer

Laura,
I will do Building Steam this year! But, not as a runner-sorry. I’d be happy to be a fast walker!

Oh, and tomorrow it’s supposed to be high of 40. We could go on a walk.
Love,
Jennifer

Leave a Reply

