Current reads…

28 12 2008

On November 15, I received an email stating that our book club had won ten copies of a book from bookmovement.com.  The book is Where The Lake Becomes The Riverby Kate Betterton. 

For the past year, I have faithfully signed my book club up to win every book listed in the monthly email I receive from bookmovement.com.  And I mean every book.  My initial reaction was one of sheer joy.  I was excited to have won something. 

Then my stomach dropped.  What if we won a religious self-help book or a weighty science fiction tome set in another galaxy?  What type of feedback could I possibly give the author of such a publication?  Note to self:  prior to trying to win books in the future, find out what the book is about. 

I surfed over the author’s website and read up on the novel that we would be receiving.  I was intrigued and couldn’t wait for them to arrive.

Luckily, I received the books prior to the December meeting.  I passed them out and arranged for some absent members to get their copies.  I am 79 pages into the book and I am very much enjoying it.  I am giving a lot of thought to what I am reading.  We are trying to arrange a conference call with the author and I want to have an intelligent and informed conversation with her. As soon as I am done with this post, I will be back to reading Where The Lake Becomes The River.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Recently, my attention was caught by an author offering a free swag bag on a book site or email.  I love free stuff, so I emailed Lisa Daily and requested a swag bag for our book club.  I had forgotten all about it until yesterday.

Let me digress.  It is very fitting that I am a Postmaster.  I love to get the mail.  You never know what will be there when you open the mailbox.  The simple act of getting the mail holds much childlike magic for me. 

Yesterday, the mail held a surprise – a small package.  It was an especially joyful occasion, as I was not expecting anything.  The package was from Lisa Daily.  It held the expected bookmarks (emblazoned with a margarita recipe), matching postcards, a certificate for four free tele-classes with Lisa Daily or one Dreamgirl Academy seminar, a signed copy of her book Fifteen Minutes of Shame and a book club reading guide for the book.  What a sweet little package!  Not only do I get a free book, I am going to get some lessons on how to find my inner Dreamgirl.  Watch out, Craig! 

I will check this book out.  Perhaps we will be able to have a conference call meeting with this author as well.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

I actually finished a non-fiction book.  This is an extremely unusual feat for me.  Perhaps one of my New Year’s Resolutions will be to read one non-fiction book a month. 

XM Satellite Radio has brought Dave Ramsey into my life.  I really relate with his financial views, so I purchased his book, The Total Money Makeover, last week. 

He uses a lot of true stories to get his point across and his writing is directed towards the average reader.  You don’t have to be a financial guru to understand Ramsey’s teachings.

By following his plan, we hope to have the Cobalt paid off by the end of April and a fully funded emergency fund by the end of 2009.  

I highly recommend this book and the Dave Ramsey show to anyone who might not feel like they have 100% control of their money.  His plan, although it is not easy, is possible.  I would gladly lend this book to any of my friends.

Actions

Information

One response

28 12 2008
appledork

Wow another person who finds nonfiction not as appealing. I have to solve this mystery that keeps on springing up. What causes nonfiction to be so insipid to some readers?
Why are the fiction books commonly known bestsellers compared to nonfiction bestsellers?

Leave a Reply

