Money, so they say…

11 12 2008

Blog-o-sphere, I know I have been a fair weather friend at times.  This slight is not intentional.  I have writer’s block, and, I suspect, thinker’s block.  So, I will check in and ramble on about what is often on my mind – money.

My husband and I are trying to save as much money as possible.  Every evening we honestly tell each other how much money we spent.  This simple act has helped me to curb my spending dramatically.  Its like a game or contest.  I love to win, and there is no better way to gain success at this than to spend nothing.  Zero is the absolute best that one can do in this game.

We were spending a lot of money on eating out.  This is not a necessity and not necessarily healthy.  So we pack our lunches every day and we have been eating at home the vast majority of the time.  Last night we had dinner at a restaurant, but the tab was picked up by a mystery shopping agency.  We are only eating out if we are with other people or if it is a special occasion.  Goodbye to stopping for fast food every night on my way home.  

The goal is to save at least $25,000 by December 31, 2010.    I think we can do it, but it will take stringent budgeting and a lot of self-discipline. 

What are we saving for?  Life.  Parenthood.  Security.  We have no impending plans to have children, but having a very large nest egg and safety net prior to doing so is a must for us.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

