Flu shot reaction or cold?

27 10 2008

Friday, I got a flu shot.  Now, I am sick.  I really did not want to get out of bed this morning.  I woke up cuddled with my husband and a cat lying next next to me.  I seriously thought about calling in, but decided not to, as the cats and my husband have their own agendas today and wouldn’t have been able to spend the day cuddling.

Is it just a coincidence that I got a flu shot and immediately got flu symptoms? 

The silver lining to the cloud of my illness is that I have no appetite!

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 10 2008
Jennifer

I think it’s a coincidence. There are studies where they looked at people that got the flu shot and people that got a flu shot placebo and the rates of illness was the same for both groups. I think it’s just easy to associate the illness with the recent even of the shot.

Additionally, let’s say you got exposed to the flu “naturally;” you wouldn’t get sick less than 24 hours later, it would take time for your body to respond to the bug…

Oh, and it does take 10-14 days after you get the shot to develop full immunity.

27 10 2008
melissas

everyone i know get’s sick when he or she gets a flu shot. but jennifer is pretty convincing.
whatever the reason — feel better!!!!

Leave a Reply

