Career Paths

15 10 2008

Taking a page from Pointlessly Hypertechnical’s recent post, I have been musing about jobs. 

If I were to start another career, it would be that of a a financial counselor.  I could finally put that Bachelor’s Degree in Finance to work.  I don’t mean the kind of counselor that helps you decide where to invest your money, I mean someone who would help you to make better financial decisions and get out of debt.  Living Within Your Means 101. 

When I retire from my current career I would like to have a job with or do volunteer work for the National Park Service doing something to make the Parks nicer for visitors.  I have been to many National Parks and they are beautiful places that must be preserved for future generations.

There are not a lot of jobs that I think I would have a passion for doing.  I certainly don’t have a passion for my current career.  I enjoy my job, I like my paycheck, but it I think of it as the place that I go to get the money to fund my real life.  I don’t get too upset about things that occur at my current job because I know I will likely be with the firm for another 25-30 years.  It is way too soon to get bitter!

On a related note, here is a list of jobs that I would not like to do.  Of course I include any job that has been featured on Dirty Jobs.  This list features career paths that I could reasonably have chosen for myself:

  • Hairdresser or nail technician  – There is nothing that I hate more than meaningless small talk.  I cannot imagine the horrors of having to spend my days having the same conversation over and over.  How’s the weather?  Can you believe the price of gas? 
  • Waitress – I am one of those really picky eaters.  You know, the kind of person who special orders – no ice, no ketchup, DO NOT PUT A PICKLE ANYWHERE ON MY PLATE (the juice could taint all of my other food).  Yeah, that’s me.  I can tell that I annoy the waitstaff at any restaurant I go to.  I couldn’t  deal with all of the other people like that in a professional manner.  But the worst part of it for me would be that I would have to be nice to everyone all of the time, even if they were being rude to me.
  • Substitute Teacher – When I was in school, the days when there was a sub were a veritable free-for-all.  Anything went.  Talking, notes, spit-wads.  Certainly there was very little learning going on. 
  • Funeral director or hospice worker – I never know what to say when people cry.  It makes me feel very uncomfortable.  It would be sad to be around those that are grieving or dying all of the time.  It would be hard to leave your feelings at work.
  • Museum docent/professional reenactor – Although I really like to go to museums and historical sites a lot, I think it would get monotonous feigning interest over the same thing all of the time.  I can’t see myself dressed up in Colonial garb at Mount Vernon answering the same questions day in and day out. 
  • Scientist – I have no patience at all.  My husband always advises me to slow down.  I need a sense of accomplishment each day.  I couldn’t spend a lot of time researching things, unless that it was very obvious things were headed in a positive direction.
  • Charitable donation collector – A long time ago I participated in Relay For Life.  This event raises money for cancer research.  Each participating group will be walking on a track for 24 hours straight.  As all four of my grandparents had cancer at some point in their lives (three of them dying from it), I thought this would be a great cause to participate in.  I told my family and friends about it and tried to collect the $100 that I had pledged to my group.  I ended up ponying up most of the money myself.  My extended family acted as if I was committing some kind of horrible Faux paux and donated a few dollars each, grudgingly.  I have not been involved with any type of race or cause that requires people to collect donations since then.

Perhaps these jobs wouldn’t be so bad.  When I was awared my current position, I was worried about having to occassionally wait on customers.  Suprisingly, the few hours I spend waiting on customers each week is one of my favorite things about the job.  You never know until you try!

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 10 2008
angeljoy

It was interesting reading your list of things you wouldn’t like to be/do. Imagine my surprise to find hairdresser at the top of the list. I gotta tell you that among the meaningless small talk, you get to know people and form some friendships along the way. (The talk is not all meaningless, nor small.) I love being a hairstylist. I never am doing the same thing longer than about 30 minutes, so I’m never bored. Some clients have been with me now for about 10 years and I’ve seen families begin, dissolve, babies born and people die. I realized when someone showed me their scrapbook of their child’s first haircut, that I am part of these family’s history. Whoa. And I just thought I went to work everyday and did “my thing”.
Do what you love.

15 10 2008
adventuresandmusings

My very good friend is a self-employed nail technician. I get my nails done to support her. Her salon is in the same building as a hair salon. It takes about 1:30 to get my nails done. During that time I can hear the conversations of the hair dressers. It is funny to hear one of them, Sue, start the same conversation with three different clients at that time.

I am very outgoing, but I find it draining to make conversation with people I don’t know very well.

Leave a Reply

