Larceny

9 07 2008
When I was younger, I had a recurring nightmare.  When I had this dream, I would wake up covered in sweat, unable to shake it from my mind for days. 
 
In the dream, I had successfully shoplifted a bag of jellybeans from Kroger.  After I left with the booty, I felt extremely guilty.  An attempt to return the candy to the shelves was thwarted by a savvy security guard and the police were called.  I was in big trouble. 
 
I have never shoplifted anything.  Intentionally.  When I was in the seventh grade, my dad took me a craft store to purchase some more cross-stitch supplies.  I needed to get some new floss to add to my vast collection.  While at the store, I noticed a small purse sized card listing the numbers of all the DMC floss colors.  It was about 1/8 the size of a piece of paper, printed on card stock and right above the DMC floss display.  I took one and put it in my purse.  A few days later, I noticed that there was a price tag on it that said $.05.  I told my parents about this and begged my dad to take me back to the store so I could pay them.  He said to wait until next time I went.  Several months passed, but I did give them their nickel. 
 
This is the kind of conscience I have when it comes to shoplifting.
 
I am thinking about doing something akin to shoplifting.  Tell me on a scale of 1-10 how immoral this is. 
 
Last July I purchased a clock at a local department store.  It is a very large clock and cost more than $150.  I have had many problems with the clock, as I had to reglue the glass to the metal frame of the clock.  It eats batteries and recently it has stopped working all together. 
 
I do not have my receipt or any type of packaging. 
 
Though this past weekend I noticed they are still selling the same model of clock at this department store.  How bad would it be if I purchased a new clock and then returned the old clock? 
 
Now, that I have written this out, I think I will not do this, as it seems underhanded.  But, a clock that expensive should work for more than a few months.
 
Any ideas?
Actions

Information

3 responses

9 07 2008
i do not know me

Some places are very liberal in their return policies and might actually exchange the clock.

Have you tried going to the manufacturer directly?

If I liked the clock and didn’t have a legitimate route to solving the problem, I would probably do as you suggest and buy a new clock and return the old one in its packaging without feeling too badly about having done so.

9 07 2008
buzzgirl

Thank you so much for your comment. It’s good to know that there’s light at the end of the tunnel. It’s hard to remember because I’m still in the dark…

11 07 2008
180/360

I have a guilt factor ingrained in me, so I would say not to do that just based on karma and the fact that it could somehow haunt you in the future. I would consider returning it to the store without the receipt and tell them what a piece of shit it is. It can’t hurt.

You should also factor in that a new one might be just as bad. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

