I’m a Rotarian

8 07 2008

Postmasters are expected to join a community organization. So, its official… I’m now a Rotarian.

I have been to two meetings. The first one was about the town’s sewer system. The person who gave the presentation was very interested in sewers (that made one person in the room). After that I wasn’t sure…

Today’s meeting was presented by a nurse from the Illinois Board of Health. She talked about prairie medicine used 150 years ago versus today’s medicine.

Need a cure for that bothersome sty? Just wipe it with a urine-soaked baby diaper!

Small open wound? Pee on it and then cover it with bacon!

Large gaping open wound? Cover it with leftover mashed potatoes!

Ear infection? Put urine in the ear or blow smoke into it! My mother actually did blow smoke in my ears when I was in junior high or high school and was suffering for a year-long ear infection. I mentioned this to her today and she denied it vehemently.

My mother was a chain-smoker for years. She quit cold turkey about fifteen years ago. Both of my parents smoked so much that when I was in grade school teachers and parents asked me if I smoked. When my friend Melissa came to our house, she had to put everything she brought with her in her basement when she got home. Now my parents home smells very nice, but that doesn’t cancel out the truth that smoke was blown into my ears (and this wasn’t on the prairie my friends, since I am 30 years old).

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 07 2008
Diva

My stepmom is all about the “old ways”… swears by ’em.

I can’t get past the pee part.

10 07 2008
Secret Server

Congrats! The prairie medicine sounds interesting. So a lot of the remedies involved pee? My mom taped bacon to my “boils” and had a relative blow smoke in my ears. I think she had some other weird remedies too. But, maybe I take after her, because I tend to think I can cure ailments with natural resources too.

Leave a Reply

