Life In The Slow Lane

29 06 2008

Most of the advice my husband gives me starts with the phrase “slow down”. I am like a whirling dervish, focusing solely on completing my task, never enjoying the process it takes to get there. I don’t read directions, I don’t consult others, I just do whatever it takes to get done as soon as humanly possible. Needless to say, I learn a lot from mistakes that are made in haste. Also, I find myself to be slightly annoyed by patient and conscientious people that always do things right the first time.

I think the frenzy was brought about by my previous job, which required me to do the work of what had previously been two positions. No problem. I don’t need to eat or go to the bathroom. I don’t need to read emails. I realized quickly that I would need to learn a lot about the financial side of the operation in order to get out of that position, so I kicked the frenzy up a notch.

And it worked, I got a new job. A new job that doesn’t require me to work myself into a constant sweat. A job at which I will never have a backlog of work. A job at which I always take my breaks and lunch. Not once have I had to wonder about the state of my bladder.

After the first week, I found myself telling a friend that the new job wasn’t going to work out, that it was so boring. I thought about starting the search for my next position. Then I decided to heed my husband’s advice.

I will attempt to slow down. I will read directions. I will stop and smell the roses (literally). I will enjoy my backyard, sitting in my lounge chair, reading. I will take walks. I will take care of myself. It doesn’t take that much time and life is more rewarding when one observes the path they are travelling.

I am embracing the slow living movement. Care to join me?

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 06 2008
i-love-life

I am so proud of you…. I told you he was a good man and I am glad you are living instead of existing!
Give that husband a hug!
Brenda

1 07 2008
Mistress of the Post

He is a good good man and I am so lucky!

Leave a Reply

