Some Guys Have All the Luck

27 02 2008

Twice this week, I have been exposed to situations where people could win prizes of great value. First was the 50/50 drawing at the Junior League’s Dueling Pianos event on Saturday. Last night at the Taste of Home Cooking Show, there were drawings for many great door prizes.

Both times I could have won. Imagine my anticipation as the winning ticket is drawn. I could definitely use that $450.00 from the 50/50 raffle to assist with the upcoming tax bill. And, that stainless steel refrigerator wouldn’t look great in my kitchen, but it would have replaced one that makes frequent sounds like an elephant.

Okay, I wasn’t a winner. But, does that make me a loser?

In my life I have one a few things, but never anything life changing.

Last year I won $40 on a scratch off lottery ticket. I figured that I had more than recouped all of the money had spent on the lottery in my lifetime, so I am quitting while I am ahead.

When I was in grade school, I won a 6-foot tall stocking full of toys from a drug store. The toys were the type that you would expect to buy at Dollar Tree, not very high quality, but I was excited to win this Christmas prize.

When I was in junior high school, I won a $25 gift card to Books N Stuff, a book store that used to be in East Peoria. I no longer remember why I won this, but this was at a time when $25 bought a lot of books and I was ecstatic!

My high school had an event after graduation called Project Graduation. This was an all night party at the school, designed with the intent to stop kids from driving drunk after graduation parties. There were a lot of prizes to be won, televisions, video game systems, computers and much more. I won a curling iron and a free night’s stay at The Hampton Inn. When I tried to redeem my stay at The Hampton Inn, I was told I had to be 21 to use it. This begs the question – why did they donate a free night’s hotel stay as a prize for the class of 1995?

Perhaps I will win a large prize in the future. I don’t think I’ve used up all of my luck yet.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 02 2008
Geggie

I’m much the same, winning little things here and there. Nothing major. My best friend won $50K in the lottery and with the taxes and such, it was a lot of hassel for way less than half the money. Now, no one’s turning down $20K , but it seems like a shame to get 20 when you won 50. So, at least I’m not jaded like that!

28 02 2008
Jennifer

Hmm… I think you ARE lucky. All I’ve ever won is a basket of towels (at a REC party) and a jar of jellybeans (from the library, that I ate at once and then threw up)….

28 02 2008
Jennifer

Okay, I lied. SS just reminded me, I once won used (but clean) lingerie at a gay bar for answering a trivia question during the final episode of “Ellen.”

So I guess I do have good luck, after all….

Leave a Reply

