#15 – The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

15 02 2008


Instead of including a photo of the book’s cover with this book review, I intead present you with a photo of the author. Something about the picture he chooses to use on his website appeals to me in a nursing home candy striper kind of way.

I have recently rekindled my love affair with the pulic library. There is a veritable sea of books available, a world of adventures to travel. My recent trip leaves me with a teetering stack of books on my bedside table.

I saw The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith on the returns shelf at the library and checked it out. I have heard good things about this series in the past and thought I’d find out if it was to my taste.

I enjoyed reading about Mma Ramotswe’s Botswanan detective agency. The cases that she worked on are unlike cases that a private eye would pick up in the United States. Several times I found myself laughing aloud.

For a little light reading, I will pick up other installments in this series in the future.

I find it quite interesting that the man pictured above can write enthralling stories from the point of view of a obese Botswanan native.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

