Oh, my Ovaries (Pain in the girl parts)!

11 02 2008

For the past week or so, I have had some, at times excruciating, pain in my lower left abdomen. Medical professional that I am, I determied that the pain was isolated in my left ovary.

I called my doctor’s office this morning and the nurse told me that the doctor would probably want me to come in today. They called me at 2:11 and my pelvic sonogram appointment was scheduled for 2:30.

I was so worried on my way to the doctor’s office. Thoughts about hysterectomies and never having children were running through my head.

Although the waiting room was full I was ushered right in to be seen by the technician. My worrying increased.

The procedure took about five minutes. At the end I was told that I had had a functional follicular ovarian cyst that ruptured. The pain was caused by my body absorbing the fluid from the cyst. Rupture is a good thing because the cure for a functional ovarian cyst is for the doctor to surgically rupture it.

Some Internet research taught me that each month a woman’s ovaries grow tiny cysts that hold the eggs. When the egg is mature, the sac breaks open to release the egg. Sometimes the cyst doesn’t break open and continues to grow, causing pain.

This is not related to my endometriosis and is not a sign of infertility. Things are good and there is nothing to worry about. Yeah!

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 02 2008
Jennifer

I’m so glad for you. I was sure you were worrying too much! (Yes, I, jenjw4, am accusing you of worrying too much!)
Jennifer

11 02 2008
Exblick

Oh my. I had that same thing happen when I was younger and it was excruciating! I’m glad you’re o.k.!

11 02 2008
Krissi

Your blog post caught my eye on the Blog 365 mega feed because I just had a hysterectomy (which I fondly refer to as a ‘hoo-hoo-ectomy’) on January 11th. I’m glad you are OK!

Krissi
http://www.mykidney.com
http://www.krississippi.com

Leave a Reply

