#12 Double Bind by Chris Bohjalian

3 02 2008

This past week was crazily busy. Working overtime each day will help out when the taxman cometh, but it didn’t lend a hand to having any time for myself. Since last weekend, I didn’t read more than ten pages. Today I took some time to veg out and finish the book that I was reading – The Double Bind by Chris Bohjalian.
I have read several other books by Bohjalian with great enjoyment. His Midwives was an Oprah book club selection several years ago.
This book wasn’t bad, but some of the elements made me put it aside at one point. Bohjalian revives some of the characters from F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby in this novel. In the past I have shyed away from books that used characters from famous works. It is a confusing tactic. One can never be sure if the characters are being used in the manner in which the original creator intended.
Bohjalian was inspired to write this book when he heard of a homeless man who had been a famous photographer in his earlier life. He loosely bases one of the primary character on this man, whose photos are used throughout the book.
The ending of this book was totally unexpected.
Although I didn’t love this book, I still think Bohjalian is a good writer. If you haven’t read him, I recommend picking up some of his previous works like Midwives, Trans-Sister Radio, Buffalo Soldier, or Before You Know Kindness.
Actions

Information

One response

4 02 2008
Candi

I loved Midwives! Crazy that a man wrote that book, but it was really good. I will have to check out some of the others.

Leave a Reply

