#10 – The Worst Thing I’ve Done by Ursula Hegi

26 01 2008

When I finished The Worst Thing I’ve Done by Ursula Hegi, I was 10% towards completing my goal of reading 100 books this year. Pretty admirable for January 26th!

At a previous job, I spent a eight hours a day listening to audio books and talk radio (this is where my love of talk radio began). I tried several Ursula Hegi books but didn’t enjoy listening to them at all. Hegi reads her own audio books and her English is heavily accented, which does not make for good audio book narration.

I thought that I’d give Hegi another try. I had never experienced one of her books in book form and thought that she might be worth trying out, with her former Novel Stones From the River being an Oprah selection. Wrong.

I hesitate to say that I didn’t like a book. After all, I appreciate that she is a published author and I am not. Writing a book is an admirable task.

But, I didn’t like this book at all. It seemed as if Hegi was using it as a forum to express her hatred for Bush. I am generally apolitical, but this was too much. I appreciate our freedom of speech in this country, though for some reason it seems sacrosanct to me to speak poorly of our President. It makes me feel uncomfortable when people do it. I don’t know why. I’m sure people spoke out against Hitler, Sadaam and Castro; and rightly so. I guess nobody should invite me to a protest, because the lingo on my sign wouldn’t be very eye catching.

The couple in the book often ask each other “What is the worst thing you did today?” An interesting question.

Actions

Information

One response

15 02 2008
Sheryl

Nice Post. Thanx.
Audio Books

Leave a Reply

