Lazy day…

21 01 2008

Martin Luther King Jr. days is one of those holidays that not everyone has off of work. I am home today, while my husband is toling away.

This has been a delightfully lazy day so far. Sleeping until 9:30, I have spent most of the day lounging and reading, taking a quick lunch break to meet KPOW and her son at Panera (for more soup) and a side trip to Northwoods Mall.

Good wife that I am, I will prepare dinner before my husband gets home. We are having one of my favorite comfort foods, a recipe that I got off of the Stove Top Stuffing Box. It very easy to make as is as follows:

STOVE TOP Classic One-Dish Chicken Bake With Vegetables

Ingredients for 6 servings:
1-2/3 cups hot water
1 pkg (6 oz.) STOVE TOP Stuffing Mix for Chicken
1-1/2 lb. boneless sinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
1 can (10-3/4 oz.) condensed cream of chicken soup
1/3 cup light sour cream
1-1/2 cups 2% milk shredded reduced-fat mozzarella cheese
1 pkg. (16 oz.) frozen mixed vegetables, thawed & drained

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Add hot water to stuffing mix; stir until just moistened. Set aside.
Place chicken in 3-qt. baking dish or 13×9-inch baking dish. Mix soup, sour cream, cheese and vegetables; spoon over chicken. Top with prepared stuffing.
Bake 30 min. or until chicken is cooked through.

nutritional info: 380 calories; 10 g fat; 31 g carbs; 3 g fiber; 38 g protein per serving
For those of you who know me in real life, I’m sure you are shocked to see that I have posted a (gasp) recipe on my blog. That should tell you something about how good it is,this is a casserole that even I will eat leftovers of. We generally eat every last bit of it.
Back to my book and a few more hours of alone time…
Actions

Information

3 responses

21 01 2008
Simon J. James

“Martin Luther King Jr. days is one of those holidays that not everyone has off of work. I am home today, while my husband is slaving away.”

On such a day, perhaps using the term ‘slaving’ is kind of weird?

21 01 2008
Most Prepossessing

Perhaps you’re right. I have since edited my text.

22 01 2008
Jennifer

Gosh, I hadn’t even caught that….
You were punny without even meanting to be!

I am amazed at posting a recipe. I’ve never even posted one at my blog, despite some serious thoughts (one I’m suffering from writer’s block, mainly) of turning it into a cooking blog.

Leave a Reply

