"You forget what you want to remember and you remember what you want to forget"

10 01 2008

“Just remember that the things you put into your head are there forever, he said. You might want to think about that.

You forget some things, don’t you?

Yes. You forget what you want to remember and you remember what you want to forget.”

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Yesterday I started reading The Road. I am trying my hand at some science fiction (which is a genre that I don’t usually like).

This is not a book review. The above quote really resonated with me.

How true it is. All of the things I want to remember have faded with time. All of the things I want to forget sting unexpectedly.

I want to remember in detail all of the lingering touches and looks between my husband and myself. All of the sweet things he’s ever said. My wedding day.

I want to be able to recall at will, the serenity of being on the beach or hiking or whatever I did with my time during a vacation from reality.

The times when my brother and I spent meaningful time together (when did that last happen?). What it was like to spend time with a friend when I laughed and laughed, when my sweet little cat cuddled up with me. What it was like to be with Grandma Edith when I was a child.

At times my mind is bogged down with workday worries or a remembered slight from fifteen years ago. How I hate it when I bring my work home with me (where I am not being paid to think about it) or when I think about someone who is no longer a part of my life, when I could be spending my time making wonderful new memories (that I could later forget…).

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 01 2008
chanpheng

I was riveted to the book until I finished. I can’t say that I liked it – it’s an all too possible future – but I thought it was excellent. I’m not sure I would call it ‘science fiction’ though it does involve a future and a speculative element. That’s one definition; another is that science fiction is whatever you want it to be. In that case, ‘Moby Dick’ could be science fiction.

In a way, ‘The Road’ much more like ‘Waiting for Godot’ – people on a plain, and you don’t know what happened or what is going to happen.

Interesting to read your thoughts. The quote hit me as well.

11 01 2008
Jennifer

OH, I love “Waiting for Godot”
One of my favorites, ever.

I am planning on reading “The Road,” having read other books by Cormac McCarthy and having enjoyed them. The movie version of “No Country for Old Men” was excellent.

But, back to the post, I wish I could remember more about when my kids were babies and all the funny things they said when they were toddlers. (Wish I had blogged then!)

11 01 2008
Most Prepossessing

For me, anything set in the future is science fiction. I generally do not read anything futuristic for some reason.

I have no idea what Waiting for Godot is. I will have to check it out…

Leave a Reply

