Crocheting

8 01 2008

Last January, I started a list of life goals. One of them was to crochet a blanket.

I took crocheting lessons last Spring, through an ICC Funshop. The teacher was Lottie Gorski and she was absolutely wonderful. If you are interested in learning crochet, this is a great way to get started. I even made a crocheting friend, who is coming over in a little bit for our monthly crocheting get-together.

During the class, I crocheted like a fiend and purchased a lot of supplies to complete a lot of patterns. I finished a mohair wrap that is absolutely gorgeous, though I have only worn it a few times because I don’t want to ruin it. I started a queen size blanket that is almost done.

Crocheting is a great hobby for someone like me. I’m not too creative, but I can for the most part follow a pattern. Plus, once you get the pattern down, you can crochet while you do other things, like watch bad television.

I don’t crochet as much as I did during the class, but it is something that will stay with me for the rest of my life, like cross-stitch (which is a hobby that I have pursued since junior high school).

It seems as if I focus on one thing at a time, whether it is running, reading, crocheting, cross-stitch, etc… Perhaps crocheting will be making a comeback. Writing this post makes me feel quite disposed towards it.

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 01 2008
My Flock Rocks!

I haven’t crocheted in ages but would love to start up again. I could see me making a blanket while sitting by the pool…yeah, like I have time!

8 01 2008
Most Prepossessing

Crocheting may not be the best poolside activity. The blanket would thwart any tanning possibilities…

8 01 2008
yellojkt

My wife tried to crochet, but her sense of perfectionism always made her rip stuff out.

8 01 2008
Exblick

I’ve been knitting for a really long time and do some crocheting. For some reason, knitting was easier for me to learn. Have you seen any of the great pattern sites online? A good crochet site is http://www.crochetme.com

9 01 2008
Jennifer

I can’t crochet or knit. I really wish I could learn to quilt, though, quilts are my favorite. But I lack patience with patterns…

Leave a Reply

