Countdown to 20/20

3 01 2008

I am nervous and excited. In less than 12 hours, I will be getting LASIK eye surgery. My appointment is at 7:30 a.m., so if you read this before then – send good thoughts my way tomorrow morning!

The procedure itself is supposed to take just a few minutes for each eye. Then I will come home and take two Ambien and sleep for 7-8 hours. When I wake up I should be able to see perfectly.

I have had Focus Night and Day contacts for the past few years. I considered this the “lazy man’s LASIK”. You wear them for thirty days, even to sleep, take them out overnight and put in a new pair. For the past few months my contacts had really been bothering me for the first few days that I had them in. I went to the optomotrist, who diagnosed me with a callous on the back of my eyelid. He said I could no longer sleep in my contacts, which was the reason that I was paying $60 a box for contacts (instead of $20).

I hate inserting and removing soft contacts, probably because I had gas permeable for many years before the soft. The maneuver is much different; with the gas permeable there is very little eyeball touching. With soft you have to do a slide and pinch. I’ve never quite caught on and have inflicted several minor scratches upon myself.

I have wanted LASIK surgery for quite some time, but have always been too scared and too thrifty. The callous diagnosis was the turning point.

It won’t be long…

Actions

Information

6 responses

3 01 2008
alto artist

Hello from another 365Blogger… I have been debating getting Lasik for quite awhile, but am chicken. Good luck–it’s exciting! I will be interested to read how about how it goes.

–aa.

3 01 2008
Rayne

Oh, wow! I wish you the best of luck and I really hope every thing comes out well. I know several people who have had the procedure and they are so happy they have. No more messing about with contacts or glasses.

3 01 2008
Diane Vespa

You will love the results. I had it done about 3 years ago and it has changed my life! If you experience any discomfort over the next few weeks tell them to use the tear duct plugs. That made a world of difference to me post-procedure. Also, plan on sleeping the ENTIRE weekend. It will really help with your recovery and it feels sooooo good!

3 01 2008
Most Prepossessing

Thanks for all of the positive support. I will post as soon as possible to let everyone know how it worked out. I look forward to the sleep. I really enjoy sleeping but don’t find much time to do it.

4 01 2008
Lil Mouse

good luck and let us know how it goes… maybe start a lasik group?

4 01 2008
Trysha

I hope everything went okay. I’ve wanted to get Lasik for years and hearing positive things about it makes me want it even more.

Leave a Reply

