#1 The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs

2 01 2008

I just finished The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible by A.J. Jacobs. I enjoyed this book as much as I did his previous work: The Know It All. I can’t wait to read his future works, and the readers of this blog can be assured that I will make a mad dash to Border’s for those as well.

Although Jacobs is now a “reverent agnostic”, this atheist is still most definitely an atheist, although if I spent a full year as Jacobs did, then perhaps I too would be slightly swayed.

Jacobs dealt with many of the rules in ways that made me laugh out loud. At one point he decides to pay his babysitter in cash each day, because the Bible says that you should not keep the wages of your employees overnight. At the end of the week she has to bring back the cash to him so that he can give her a check with taxes taken out. He interacts with the faithful of many different religions. His trip to Amish country and to a church where snakes are handled during services were amusing to read. He hires an intern/slave.

Many of the teachings of the Bible help followers to become a better person. Don’t lie. Don’t steal. Don’t murder. Give thanks. Jacobs tales of his trials with the Ten Commandments are both thought-provoking and witty.

This is a book for believers and non-believers alike. Read it.
Actions

Information

3 responses

3 01 2008
Ms. PH

I really wanted to read this book after I saw an interview with this guy on the Today Show. I am so glad to have your review so now I know I won’t be wasting my time!

I can’t believe his wife stuck with him. True Love. I would have killed him. Or had him committed.

3 01 2008
Trysha

I hadn’t heard of this book, but it sounds really good. I’m putting it on the to-read shelf.

3 01 2008
Most Prepossessing

It was so good. I really enjoyed this and his previous book about reading the entire Encyclopedia Brittanica. It appeals to the part of me that would love to do things like this with my time.

Leave a Reply

