Impulsive

28 12 2007

I am exhausted, but it seems important to blog before giving way to sleep. Usually I read a book before I go to bed, but none of those tottering on the to-be-read pile appeal to me.

I heard an interview with A.J. Jacobs on Broadminded yesterday. He is the author of one of my favorite reads of 2007- The Know It All – One Man’s Humble Quest To Become the Smartest Person in the World. Jacobs read the entire Encyclopedia Britannica from A to Z and wrote about his experience doing so. The nerdy girl in me would love to complete such a daunting task, but the scatterbrain in me would not be able to focus on the entry at hand, I would be all over the set, learning more about things related to the current topic. But, I digress, Jacobs has written a new book, which I completely intend to purchase tomorrow in hardback. It is called The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible. The author is not a religious person, so this should be quite interesting. He describes his self as Jewish “in the same way that the Olive Garden is an Italian restaurant” (hey, I love the OG). He doesn’t shave for a year, pays his babysitter in cash at the end of every day (the Bible says that you should not hold the wages of your employees overnight), etc… I really can’t wait to read it. If I wasn’t so tired, I would be at Border’s right now. Thus, I blog about my excitement over reading this book. Will it live up to the fervor?

Oh, screw it, I’m on my way to Border’s now. Who am I kidding?

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 12 2007
i do not know me

Definitely an interesting idea: living by the literal word of the bible. So many rules, so many of them contradictory to one another.

29 12 2007
Most Prepossessing

I got it! I have read the first two chapter and thus far it is everything I thought it would be!

Leave a Reply

