The Abortionist’s Daughter by Elisabeth Hyde

27 12 2007

I finished reading The Abortionist’s Daughter by Elisabeth Hyde today. It was exactly what I was searching for – a fast, can’t-put-it-down read. I started it before I went to bed on Tuesday night and finished it tonight. I was guessing who-dun-it until the very end, when the perpetrator was finally revealed. I give this book a rating of 8.5 on a scale of 10, and would recommend it to other book-lovers!
Along with the mystery, the book touched on many different issues. The two most interesting to me were abortion and stalkers.
I once heard or read that something like 1 in 10 people have had a stalker (luckily, I am thus far not stalkable). That is a scary statistic and a very bad situation for those involved. The police don’t seem to be able to do much unless threats or harm is involved. Yet constant unwanted attention can be emotionally harmful to the stalkee.
The abortionist’s perspective on her trade was that she was helping women ‘push the reset button’ on their lives. This was not, of course, the perception of the protesters and lobbyists that she interacted with. It was very interesting to see the views of both sides portrayed. I can see both arguments, though I have never been in a situation where an abortion was a possibility.
As I reflect upon my life, I realize how that my views on abortion (for myself, not others) have changed dramatically as I reach the point in my life where I am thinking about having a child and wondering how easy it will be because I have suffered from endometriosis for many years. In the past, I thought someone would be available to ‘push the reset’ button if I ever needed it. I was glad that option was available for me. Now, it is no longer even a remote possibility. In the future, when I become pregnant, I will be ecstatic.
Actions

Information

3 responses

28 12 2007
Jennifer

Laura,
Sounds like a good book, I have been craving a mystery.
I had a minor stalker situation for a while when I worked at a local video store. I was 18 at the time and there was an older (mid 40’s) customer that came in all the time. But it went beyond a crush because he would stay in the store forever and often sit in the parking lot and stare at me through the glass. He would mouth stuff at me (but I’m not good at reading lips). One night he stayed at the store and was still sitting in the parking lot when I got off work (after midnight and I was the only employee working). I was too afraid to leave the building but would have felt stupid calling the police. I called a friend to meet me, and once the friend arrived the guy left. Shortly after this I went to work somewhere else, it was just too freaky.

29 12 2007
i do not know me

I am sure that they are using a very expansive definition of stalker to get that statistic. Nothing says “I love you” like stalking, and not that many people really love each other.

29 12 2007
Most Prepossessing

My friend, S, says she “stalked” her husband before the started dating. Her definition of “stalking” was going to the gym when she thought he would be there. I personally consider stalking to be a little more like Jennifer’s story.

Leave a Reply

