Confessions of a Speed-Racer

12 12 2007

Every day I drive 50 miles to work and 50 miles back. 38 of these miles are highway miles, meaning that if I drive 80 instead of 65, I can save about 20 minutes a day.

I admit, I speed. But only on my way to and from work. If I’m on vacation, then I don’t speed. On the way to the mall, I drive the speed limit. There’s just something about that boring stretch of highway.

I am trying to break myself of this habit, despite the fact that in three years of driving this route I have never never never seen a police officer running radar during the time I normally drive to and from work. If I go early or leave late, there are sometimes state troopers out. A friend, who is a police officer told me that my travel times correspond with shift change time for the ISP.

I have always figured that if I did get a ticket, it would be a small price to pay for all of the time I have saved for the past three years.

Friends, I will now arrive home 10 minutes later each afternoon.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

