The Drowning Tree by Carol Goodman

30 10 2007

One down, 65 to go in the To-Be-Read Pile.
I just finished reading The Drowning Tree by Carol Goodman. I rate this book 7 out of 10. It started off very slowly. I had to force myself to read to page 50, but once I got that far I was fully vested in the story. It was a good mystery, in that I didn’t figure out whodunit until the end.

When her best friend dies, Juno doesn’t believe that it is a suicide, but who would have killed her? There are several likely suspects and the reader is kept guessing until the end.

The book is full of interesting themes – stained glass, mental illness and recovery, art, rowing/kayaking and mythology. Some of the mythological references are a little too detailed and obscure for my tastes.

All in all, this wasn’t a bad read, but there was likely a reason that I was putting it off. I wonder if I will find any great reads in the to-be-read pile…

Tonight I am starting Lost and Found by Carolyn Parkhurst, which for some reason I actually purchased in hardcover (usually I only purchase books by authors I LOVE in hardcover. I have never heard of this author. What possessed me to spend $23.95 on this book?) Stay tuned for answers to that and other pressing questions.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

