Cone Baby Cone

28 10 2007

A long time ago, I was reading a book called Gone Baby Gone written by Dennis Lehane. Perhaps you have heard of it, since Ben Affleck has adapted it for film and it is a very popular film at this time. My friend Jennifer saw the book and asked me what Cone Baby Cone was about. Since that time I have always thought of the book, and now the movie, by that name.

My husband and I went to see Gone Baby Gone this weekend. I found it to be quite enjoyable, despite that I had read the book before. It seems as if I see a movie after I read the book then I hate the movie. Case in point – The Count of Monte Cristo. I don’t remember the dwarf being in the book – and I’ve read that book many times. Alexandre Dumas would have been shocked to see that film!

Back to the topic at hand – Gone Baby Gone. I don’t want to spoil the movie for anyone but I would like to have a discussion with fellow moviegoers regarding the decision Patrick made in the end. Casey Affleck’s character saw things as right and wrong and black and white. There was no grey area in between. Could I have looked the other way in his shoes? Was it truly the right thing? Would things have been better if he would have taken the right path? Yes, I do think things would have been better, but who are we to make that choice?

Both my husband and I marveled at the extras used at the beginning of the movie -during the news scene when everyone in the neighborhood was outside. These were not just your run of the mill extras. These were people that likely live in neighborhoods like the movie was set in – people who haven’t had the best of luck with life.

Amy Ryan’s performance as Helene was great. It amazes me when beautiful women take on a role that requires them to act and appear as if life has not treated them very well – very reminiscent of Charlize Theron’s performance in Monster.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

