You Probably Think This Post Is About You…

18 10 2007

I am acquainted with at least four women that have had elective plastic surgery. All four of these women were attractive beforehand and if I didn’t know that the surgery had occurred I would never have noticed a difference in their bodies. They all had nice figures (better than mine) prior to the surgeries occurring.

Two had breast implants, one liposuction and one a tummy tuck. The recovery period for a tummy tuck is six weeks and this person couldn’t even sit up for a few days. I can’t imagine putting myself through that pain to fit society’s ideal of how a woman should look.

Both of the women that had breast implants have early teenage or below daughters. It seems as if they should be teaching their daughters to love their bodies, that they are valuable as a person no matter the size of their breasts.

I really hate that contemporary American society places a value on a woman’s appearance and that so much care goes into the woman’s appearance and men can get ready for their day in a matter of minutes. I’m sure this will not change since many major industries are based around this – makeup, clothing, magazines, plastic surgery, etc..

Those of you that know me know that my body is far from perfect, but I would never alter it. I consider my imperfections to be battle scars – losing and winning the battle of the bulge, and the 12 inch long diagonal scar from the incision for my old fashioned gall bladder surgery will prohibit any bikini wearing for the rest of my life, no matter what size I am.

Enough said.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

