Thoughts on Run by Ann Patchett

17 10 2007

Run by Ann Patchett
Recently I decided I would use my blog to comment on books that I have read. Perhaps someone out there will have read one as well and like to discuss it.
Today I finished reading Run by Ann Patchett. I purchased this book the week it came out in hard cover, because I absolutely loved two of her former works – Bel Canto (thank you for making me read it, Jennifer) and The Patron Saint of Liars.
Let me say that I have never written a book, so it is strange to me to publicly say that I didn’t like this book as much as her others, though it was very readable and kept my attention throughout. I am quite jealous of authors and their ability to entertain people by bringing them to another world.
I very much liked the characters in the book. They were easy to relate to. The writing style was great, typical of Patchett.
There were a lot of religious aspects in the book. Although I am a very non-religious person I still find religion to be a very interesting topic. A character has a special religious power (no spoilers on this blog) that I found unbelievable. Another issue that I found disconcerting is that when a pivotal character makes a revelation, it is told from the first person point of view and no other characters ever become aware of the situation. This is a serious revelation that could be life-changing to all of the other characters in the book, so one is forced to wonder why the author chose for this to be a part of the story.
The plot is interesting. The reader is forced to wonder about the contemporary family unit and what makes a person family to another – brother, sister, father, mother? Is it all about blood or is it about having closely intertwined lives?
Has anyone read this book? What did you think? Did you find it believable? Did you relate to the characters? Do you understand the role of Tennesse’s first-person revelation? Respond. I am anxious to discuss with someone.
Tonight I will start Water for Elephants by Sarah Gruen, which is the next book club book.
Actions

Information

One response

24 06 2008
Anonymous

I just finished it – liked it and will recommend it. It dealt with many heavy issues: race, politics, religion, adoption and what constitutes for family.
I did wonder, however, why Patchett did not expand more on the circumstances that the mother was facing when she gave away her two boys. I felt that was a huge part of the story that was missing.
Also, did anyone notice the similarities in the characters’ names? Here’s what I mean:
Bernard and Bernadette
Sullivan and Father Sullivan
The two Tennesses
I don’t know if it meant something, just something I noticed.

Leave a Reply

