Happy Anniversary

19 08 2007

Today is our 1 year wedding anniversary. It has been a good day and a good year.

A lot of things have occurred in the past year, but we made it with no relationship snafus along the way. We travelled to Hawaii and Washington DC. Craig got a new job. I had surgery for gall bladder disease, that did not go as expected and left me with a 12 inch scar and a 6 week recovery. Our house was hit by bullets and we moved to a new area. Things have went well between us and I am glad that we are together.

We are going to gain some new skills in year two, skills that we can do together. The first is cooking. The second is camping. I would like to try camping, but I don’t like the idea of going to the bathroom on the ground. I tried it once and it was an unsuccessful endeavor.

Label me domestically challenged. I have used the stove in this house twice since we moved in on 5/25/07. We are going to learn to be culinary achievers – people that don’t forage for meals at restaurants and in the frozen food section of the supermarket. Don’t expect anything fancy. These are the things we aspire to make first: grilled garlicky shrimp and chicken fettuccine Alfredo. More to follow on this topic.

I must stop typing and finish the day with my husband. We went on a long bike ride on the Rock Island Trail. We had ice cream at Jane’s Ice Box in Dunlap. It is a nice restaurant and stop along the trail. I hope it stays in business for a long time. Then we did a little shopping. We are going to finish watching Zodiac now. It is long, but very watchable. I am very interested in finding out more about the true events.

We went to Borders. I bought the last copy of the book we selected for the book club. They are going to order five more so that others can get it as well. I have read the first chapter and I can’t wait to finish it. It seems like it will be a book to devour in one sitting. I haven’t had one of those in a while, so I am really looking forward to reading more later.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

